Confessions of an EVERYDAY ECOTARIAN

creative, conscious and conserving ideas, thoughts and solutions

18 hours of my life July 27, 2008

Filed under: Ramblings — adm @ 1:53 am
Tags: , ,

Friday, July 25th, 2008

6:00-7:00pm: Sang backup in a soul band for a little rural town’s celebration of itself. It was fun, felt a little ridiculous but I certainly don’t take myself seriously enough to care about that! I danced and everything.

7:00-8:15pm: Shared a hamburger and some fries with my kids, (mediocre). I looked everywhere for a fresh, organic salad greens stand, couldn’t find one. Drat.

8:15-8:30: Drove to my neighbors house to do chores -they watched our animals while we were away so I’m returning the favor.

8:30-9:45: I pull into the drive and all four horses are out of the pasture wandering the yard. So, now I collect, gather, entice four horses back into the paddock. Jubilee is not cooperating. Alpha mare. Everybody goes in so I go about the rest of my business…

-Find the break in the fence

-Fix the fence

-Milk the goat

-Put the milk into bottles and feed the baby goats

-Give hay to the horses, baby goats and big goats

-Check everyone’s water

-Go inside, filter the rest of the milk into a quart jar for our family

-Clean bottles, milk bucket and funnel

-Go home

10:00-10:30: Clean up dishes, fold some laundry, collect, gather the clutter from another day

10:30: Go to bed

Saturday, July 27th, 2008

4:30am: Go get the crying baby, bring him back to our bed to snuggle

5:00am: Put the wiggling, squirmy baby back in his own bed

6:00: Get up, have breakfast, drive back to the place I sang last night.

7:00: register for a 5K race, (3.1 miles)

8:00: Start running!

8:24: (and 46 seconds) -Cross the finish line!

9:00am: Leave for chores at the neighbors again

10:06am: Finish chores, (milk the goat, feed the kids, grain the goats/horses, hay the goats/horses, check water, test the fence again, let the horses back into the pasture).

10:15pm: Walk in the door late for yoga, (put the goat milk in the fridge of the building we are using for yoga because I didn’t have time to go home and drop it off).

10:15-11:30pm: Do Yoga, (with really tired legs and hay in my shirt). Finish yoga, give the milk to the yoga instructor who is just thrilled about that.

11:30-12:00pm: Drive back home, eat a snack-sized snicker bar, (I’m so hungry and I haven’t shopped since returning from our trip so it is what I could find), rest for a few minutes.

…until I head back over to see if the horses are still in their pasture and find that the fence is down again and they are all over the yard, again. So, I gather them in, again.

I think it’s a conspiracy. I think they’re organized. I think I’m tired and am going to bed.

 

One Response to “18 hours of my life”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Goats are so cute! I live in a very urban place right now, but dream about having my own goats. And an apple orchard. But not doing all those chores šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

